Unexpected Epitaph

image

I wouldn’t have guessed it, but white can actually be good camoflage even without a snowy landscape. When I first saw these two dot-lined white moths (artace cribraria) from a distance, I thought they were just a clump of fabric casually discarded by a pedestrian near the asphalt where they were sitting. Even as I leaned down toward them and realized they weren’t fabric, I thought they were simply birdshit. Only when I came within a foot did I actually distinguish them as moths of some kind. Since they were mating, I didn’t move them from their location on the edge of the street, but I wish I had. When I came back to look for them later, they’d both been run over by a car. So, in a sense, this could be their epitaph.

Leave a Reply

