Echoes of History

In July I made my monthly visit to the Eno Riverwalk. I paid special attention to the remains of the Saponi Nation’s traditional dwelling, sitting in a field where the structure was displayed some years ago to demonstrate aspects of Saponi culture. (The Saponi are an indigenous nation who once lived in this region but have been largely dispossessed and displaced.) I wasn’t able to see the dwelling when it was on site, but I do admire the log-posts that still stand. They’re silent reminders that there was once a time when the land was regarded not merely as a resource to be exploited but as the sacred and indispensable source of all life.

Heading west, I passed under the Exchange Bridge, which in its own way stands as a monument to the greed of colonizers who dispossessed the original inhabitants of this land, such as the Saponi. Acting primarily as a commercial thoroughfare which facilitates the pollution and degradation of the land, the bridge is a stark reminder of how much things have changed since the time when Hillsborough was founded. For the record I love the town of Hillsborough, but the history of this town and of this culture is covered in the blood and pain of native people, who are largely invisible to the casual observer.

Beyond the Exchange Bridge is one of my favorite views of the Eno. It’s easy to forget about all the history that resides in a place like this when looking at a scene so peaceful and beautiful. I wonder sometimes how much the river has changed over the course of history and how much more it will change in the future. I want the river to be healthy and whole for as long as water runs in this world, but there are so many forces in our culture that threaten the health of rivers and humans alike. I don’t know if the river will be healthy in the future. However I do know that if we want to preserve human health in the future, we have to preserve the health of our rivers and watersheds today.

Another result of the colonization of this land is the proliferation of opportunistic species such as the white-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus), which have become overabundant in the absence of keystone species such as the mountain lion and black bear, which were once far more prevalent in this region. I love these deer, but the damage they can do to vegetation and forests is a reminder that the history of colonization is around us at all times, even when we can’t see the people who originally lived in this land centuries ago.

Do your part by making a tax-deductible donation to support the indispensable stories you find on Mark All My Words.

Donate Button

8 thoughts on “Echoes of History

  1. savithri senanayake August 13, 2016 / 9:16 pm

    Lovely story my dear Mark!
    Thanks for sharing! You are a great nature lover! 👍👍🌳🌲💚🍃
    Savi!

    • Mark Miles August 22, 2016 / 4:14 am

      Thank you so much, Savi! 😆 I appreciate that you took the time to read. So few people do. Have a lovely week, my friend! ⛅😎👋

  2. Magick In Progress August 16, 2016 / 11:06 am

    I enjoyed this. Gives you some things to think about when viewing the landscape around you.

  3. rivertoprambles August 18, 2016 / 11:58 am

    Mark,
    Thanks for dropping by Rivertop Rambles. In turn, I checked out your blog and really like it. I hadn’t known about the Saponi culture but I found your investigation here, as elsewhere among your posts, quite interesting in the context of humankind and wider nature. Also, I appreciate quality writing!

    • Mark Miles August 22, 2016 / 4:19 am

      Thank you so much. I try to put some though into my writing, though I also try to be cognisant of people’s time-contraints. It’s a balancing act.

    • Mark Miles August 22, 2016 / 4:21 am

      Thank you, and you’re very welcome.

Leave a Reply

