Triumvirate of Violet

by Mark Miles

Temperatures have finally started cooling in central North Carolina recently, but there’s been such an inundation of rain that the plants and trees haven’t fully accepted the calendrical arrival of autumn. As such, there are many flowering plants in the area that are still flowering, despite the fact that their flowering time has ostensibly passed. I’m guessing they’re as confused by this climatic havoc as I am. Regardless, their blossoms are still attractive, and they give me an opportunity to share more of nature’s beauty, about which I can’t complain.

The fluffiest of the three flowers in this post is the first. Blue mistflower (Conoclinium coelestinum) isn’t really blue; it’s actually violet. However, it does have some blue undertones, and its blossoms are immediately recognizable by virtue of their color and texture. I stumbled on this specimen by an old abandoned house not far from where I live on a recent evening walk. The house is abandoned by humans, but it certainly hasn’t been abandoned by nature, which has reclaimed much of the yard. As a result, this blue mistflower has had more than ample opportunity to thrive, for which I’m grateful.

This plant eluded me for the longest time. I actually have it in my backyard, an unsolicited visitor but one which continues to delight me with its azure blossoms and violet undertones. (I know it’s a stretch to include a blue flower under the title of this post, but if someone can label an unmistakably violet flower as blue–cf. blue mistflower–I think I’m allowed a similar indulgence.) I was finally able to identify it after much searching as the Asiatic dayflower (Commelina communis), though I personally prefer the name of mouse-ears, which is an alternate title for the plant and much more descriptive of the dainty upward-reaching petals. Though it’s considered a noxious weed in many areas, it does have beneficial attributes. In Japan it’s historically been used to make a striking blue dye used to illustrate traditional manuscripts. In addition it has the ability to bioaccumulate heavy metals to such an extent that it’s considered to be a viable candidate for helping in the cleanup of heavily polluted mining sites.

The last of these flowers is also the most easily recognizable for most people. I found this specimen of hibiscus (Hibiscus syriacus) along the side of the road where it’d been largely overlooked and chopped down nearly to the ground. Nevertheless, this one blossom managed to spring forth in the last reaches of summer with the fading sunlight of my evening walk accenting its delicate hues of violet and magenta. I wanted to take the flower home with me, but I left it where it was in the knowledge that I could find other hibiscus blossoms in some of my favorite herbal teas, to which hibiscus imparts its distinctive color in addition to contributing Vitamin C, zinc, and omega-3 fatty acids. In nature, then, we find that beauty and health are two petals on the same flower.

Donate Button

9 thoughts on “Triumvirate of Violet

  1. rivertoprambles October 8, 2016 / 12:29 pm

    Enjoyed reading your descriptions of those two petals–health and beauty– found on the often undervalued and underappreciated flora of your region. Thanks!

    • Mark Miles October 11, 2016 / 1:58 am

      Thank you! Always appreciate your kind comments. Have a good week! 👍👍

  2. lpfnuer October 12, 2016 / 1:31 am

    Wow, such gorgeous foliage! Those are stunning photos.

  3. Still a Runner October 12, 2016 / 11:13 am

    The visual imagery along with your commentary is a wonderful pairing. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I am a lover of all flowers in the blue spectrum.

  4. usathroughoureyes October 12, 2016 / 1:01 pm

    Great job Mark. Such a beautiful area. I hope all is coming back from the recent storm?

    • Mark Miles October 17, 2016 / 4:14 am

      Thank you. Yes, things have been returning to normal, though some areas are still inundated.

Leave a Reply

