In Search of Holden Mill

Last weekend I was finally able to explore the ruins of Holden Mill at Eno River State Park. I’d been wanting to for a couple months, but finding the requisite three hours of daylight proved to be more difficult than finding honesty in a politician. I made an unsuccessful attempt in November which resulted in my turning back before reaching the mill due to lack of daylight. As a result, some of the photos in this article have more autumnal color than others; those are photos from my incomplete November hike. The photos that have more wintry color are the ones that I took last weekend. And while most of this story will be a recollection of my December hike, there will also be minor elements of my November hike interspersed. With that covered, let’s begin.

I arrived at Eno River State Park in Durham, North Carolina, on Sunday afternoon to find that there were a good number of other people who had the same idea. It’s not uncommon to find a crowd here, but I figured the 40° F temperatures would be enough to dissuade my fellow Carolinians from venturing into what’s considered by many southerners to be intolerably cold weather. My assumption was wrong, but I was right in assuming that I’d be the only one not wearing anything on his head. Being the son of two midwesterners well accustomed to blizzards and snowstorms, I’m inclined to regard 40° F in December as a heatwave. Thus headwear was superfluous.

Stone Staircase by the Eno (Mark Miles, 2016)

Starting northward on Buckquarter Creek Trail, I rounded the curve near Outhouse Ford and continued westward, encountering a few other small groups of hikers who were finishing the trail I was starting. Before long I came to Buckquarter Creek footbridge and crossed gingerly before coming to a fork in the trail and taking the northern course. I had now come to Holden Mill Trail, which consists of two closely linked loops. The first of these is considerably larger than the second and extends from the banks of the Eno to a neighboring hill which provides decent elevation.

Ascending Wintry Hill (Mark Miles, 2016)

Cresting the hill, I noticed how the lack of foliage increased the visibility of the area considerably. When I came in November, there was still enough foliage to obscure a great deal of the surrounding landscape, giving the sense that so much legwork had been for naught. This wasn’t the case last weekend, and I was pleasantly surprised by how invigorating it was to see so much of the surrounding terrain with the chill December air goading me to breathe deeply of autumn’s last days. The visibility increased further still, however, when I reached a clear-cut of power-lines, which looked as if a giant had used his scythe to scalp the land of her foliage.

Powerlines Scalp the Land (Mark Miles, 2016)

By this time I was getting close. The trail had turned from westward to southward, and Tranquility Creek came into view. The trail continued on a course parallel to the creek for a little way before turning right abruptly at a shallow ford and leading me to the last stretch before the mill itself. I was pretty excited by this time and wasn’t exactly sure what to expect. I’d seen a few photos of the mill previously, but none of them had been particularly detailed. Thus my senses were fine-tuned and ready for anything.

The first thing to come into view was the defunct dam which once blocked this stretch of the Eno. It was very primitive and appeared to extend no more than ten feet in height, though it may have stood taller when it was intact. I wasn’t able to get any decent photos of it, but there wasn’t much to photograph in any case.

Ruins Loom in the Distance (Mark Miles, 2016)

Then came the good stuff. Looming amongst the bare sycamores and oaks was a considerable stone structure that looked as if someone had transposed a fragment of Hadrian’s Wall to central North Carolina. Standing twenty feet in height and leaning ever so slightly forward, it was an imposing sight and lent an air of dubious antiquity to the landscape. In front of it stood two other fragments of the same structure, the first of which was no more than eight feet in height and the second no more than twelve. Together the three stone structures formed a kind of maze that simultaneously invited and dissuaded exploration. On the one hand curiosity urged me to take a look for the sake of posterity, but on the other hand precaution urged me to watch for falling stones from a very old structure that’s clearly seen better days. I adopted the middle path, exploring what looked safe and avoiding what didn’t.

Not-So-Hadrian’s Wall (Mark Miles, 2016)

There weren’t any plaques or signs in the area to indicate what the ruins had previously been, but I have my own ideas. The tallest structure in the back appears to have been the site for the mill-wheel, which was probably considerable in size to provide sufficient force to power the internal mechanism of the mill. The second wall may have redirected water from the adjacent canal to a spillway which emptied into the Eno. The third wall might similarly have provided the means to retain water in an enclosed area without spilling into the river prematurely.

Mill Spillway after Two Centuries (Mark Miles, 2016)

All of this is guesswork of course, but I was also able to find something more substantial than guesswork in my research. As it turns out, Holden Mill was founded as a corn, flour and saw mill in 1811 by Isaac Holden. He owned and oversaw the mill for nine years before passing it to his son, Thomas Holden in 1820. Thomas Holden expanded the mill’s workload to include cotton, oil and threshing before passing it to his son-in-law, John Lyon, in 1851. John Lyon retained the mill until 1868, when the mill was closed due to financial difficulties. For fourteen years it remained shuttered. Then, in 1882, Samuel Cole reopened the mill and changed the name from Holden Mill to Cole Mill. He oversaw the operation of the mill until 1893, when the mill closed for the second and final time. The development of factories had rendered the water-mill obsolete, and its role in the economy had become a footnote in history.

As I began the return leg of my hike, I still had visions of decaying stone structures in my head, attempting to reconstruct themselves into their original form to show me how everything worked. I still don’t know if my guesswork is accurate, but I do know one thing. The river which was the real reason for the operation of Holden Mill is the real reason why anyone should come to Eno River State Park.

How the Eno Stole My Heart (Mark Miles, 2016)

On the banks of the Eno I can hear the running water and the voice of the land, leading me to imagine how our world would be without toxic industries poisoning the water and fouling the air. On the banks of the Eno I can feel the rush of a crisp wind on my face and the sharp pull of nature on my soul, whispering to me to respect all that’s green and good in this world. On the banks of the Eno I can see that beauty is everywhere and that another world is possible, expectantly waiting for us to join in common cause to end the reign of money once and for all.

Do your part by making a tax-deductible donation to support the indispensable stories you find on Mark All My Words.

Donate Button

29 thoughts on “In Search of Holden Mill

  1. Denzil December 17, 2016 / 6:53 am

    Nice post Mark, I share many of your thoughts

  2. Jane Sturgeon December 17, 2016 / 12:52 pm

    Beautiful picture Mark, thank you. 🙂

  3. rivertoprambles December 17, 2016 / 1:53 pm

    A wonderful autumn essay that is capped poetically with the overtones of winter on the Eno. I especially could relate to your exploration of the mill ruins and the cleansing of the river as it is today. Thanks Mark.

    • Mark Miles December 19, 2016 / 6:30 am

      Thank you so much. It’s always a good day when there’s a hike before the end of it. Have a great week ahead, my friend.

  4. whimsicalmoonfarm December 18, 2016 / 1:24 pm

    I always enjoy reading about your nature treks and adventures. As always, the photos are superb.

    • Mark Miles December 19, 2016 / 6:30 am

      Thank you so much, really appreciate your kind words.

  5. Maegan MacKimmie December 20, 2016 / 4:07 pm

    Great pictures and you have a lovely way with words. I really enjoyed reading this.

    • Mark Miles December 26, 2016 / 5:48 am

      Thank you so much. I really appreciate your kind words.

  6. dtills December 24, 2016 / 2:37 pm

    I love your pictures! I am new to blogging and my photography skills reflect that, hopefully I can learn from yours! Thanks for stopping by my blog and have a wonderful holiday!

    • Mark Miles December 26, 2016 / 5:49 am

      Thank you for the encouraging words. I hope you’re enjoying the season in whatever way you celebrate.

  7. newranaweera December 26, 2016 / 10:11 pm

    I love your post, and your ideas about nature. specially, your message that we need to “join in…to end the reign of money” so as to protect nature.

    • Mark Miles January 2, 2017 / 5:07 am

      Thank you. There’s so much that’s wrong in this world, and so much of it is simply the result of a pathological obsession with money.

  8. cherylcapaldotraylor December 28, 2016 / 1:46 pm

    Wonderful post and your pictures are beautiful. I’ve lived nearby and have only made it to the Eno a couple of times. You’ve inspired me to explore it again.
    Thank you:)

    • Mark Miles January 2, 2017 / 5:09 am

      Thank you so much. I’m really glad you have more interest in exploring the Eno. It’s a beautiful river and deserves more recognition.

  9. nuggetsdrooling December 29, 2016 / 5:37 am

    That looks like a beautiful hike anytime of the year. Loved the Trinity Creek photo but they were all stunning pictures.

  10. Eva Blaskovic December 29, 2016 / 6:10 am

    I love these, Mark! Thanks for the post.

  11. Debbie Diljak December 31, 2016 / 2:48 pm

    Very informative. And nice pictures, too. I’ve passed by Eno park many times, but have never visited. Looks really pretty.

    • Mark Miles January 2, 2017 / 5:13 am

      It’s a great place, though there are parts that require a bit of agility to traverse. And thank you.

  12. ekurie January 9, 2017 / 7:07 pm

    I am a NC native and have not heard of this place, thanks for the illumination. Beautiful pictures. My family lived for a time in rural NJ and behind our house was a brook that looked just like the photo of the river (somewhat narrower)– Rock Brook. Thank you, too for visiting my blog!

  13. RunBikeThrow February 2, 2017 / 3:10 am

    Incredible photos. I especially like the stone staircase. Looks like something out of Lord of the Rings.

Leave a Reply

